The Cathedral of St. Philip - Atlanta, GA

We Are Accepting Candidates for Nomination to the Cathedral Chapter

The Chapter Nominating Committee has begun their work of assembling a slate of nominees for the 2023 Cathedral Chapter. They invite anyone in the parish to submit recommendations of qualified candidates.

As the governing body of the Cathedral, the Chapter determines policy issues and provides stewardship of the Cathedral’s complex operations. Each month, the Chapter formally reviews the status of each of the Cathedral’s parochial entities and ministries, and oversees parish financial statements. Unlike smaller parishes, the Cathedral Chapter does not usually get involved in the day-to-day activities of the Cathedral. In our large and complex system, the Chapter of the Cathedral operates as a board of trustees or board of stewards.

Each Chapter member serves a three-year term. Our Church By-laws allow for members to be: “Any communicant of the parish in good and regular standing, who is not less than eighteen years of age, a regular attendant in Cathedral worship in the year preceding election, and known by the treasurer to have made and maintained a stated financial commitment for church support in the year preceding election.” (A “communicant” is a baptized member who has been confirmed.) The most important quality of an effective Chapter member is an ability to see the larger picture. Most have held leadership positions in more than one of the church’s ministries or parochial entities.

After recommendations are given to the Nominating Committee, eligibility is verified and candidates are polled to confirm their interest and availability. The committee then chooses six strong candidates to send to the Chapter for approval. Finally, Chapter members are formally elected by the parish at the annual parish meeting in December. 

The Nominating Committee reviews candidates who will round out the experience of the continuing Chapter members. We will seek to represent a broad range of age and gender groups, and a broad range of ministries and parochial entities of the Cathedral community.

Members of the committee include: Kathryn Howell, Will Klein, Andi O’Bryan, Hubert Tate, Sam Wilmoth, Mary Caroline Cravens, Rod Bunn, Teddi Bair, Haven Long, and Brent Rosengren.  The Dean and Senior Warden Ward Bondurant serve ex-officio.

Names of recommendations should be submitted along with a brief supporting statement to any Nominating Committee member or to the Office of the Dean, 404-365-1031, or by Sunday, October 23.